Are DigitalOcean snapshots destroyed after restoring them?

No snapshots are not destroyed when a snapshot is restored. They are kept for as long as your retention policy is set for.

If you are using SnapShooter to manage your droplet and you need to restore your Digital Ocean it can be worth pausing backups to make sure your old backups are not destroyed until your happy you have fixed the issue.

How to pause backups

  1. Login to SnapShooter
  2. Select the droplet you wish to pause

  3. On the top right press the pause symbol
  4. You should see the confirmation message

    Your droplet snapshot schedule have been paused

  5. Your droplet is now paused and will have a status of paused. No more backups will be scheduled and no old backups will be removed.

How to unpause/resume Backups

  1. Login to SnapShooter
  2. Select the droplet you wish to resume
  3. On the top right press the play symbol
  4. You should see the confirmation message

    Your droplet snapshot schedule have been resumed

  5. Your droplet is now resumed and will have a status of activated. Backups will continue on scheduled and old backups will be removed based on your retention policy.

One Reply to “Are DigitalOcean snapshots destroyed after restoring them?”

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *